How to turn your bed from blan to bling?

No matter the furniture placement, the focal point to any bedroom is of course, the bed! Choosing the right bedding for your bed is always hard. You want it to look like it’s out of a magazine, but fear reaching too far outside of the box. You want different prints, a color scheme, and something that reflects your personality. A lot of people lean towards “comforter sets” that come with sheets, matching pillows, and sometimes accent pillows. The accent pillows in the set look too identical to the bedding, which leaves you with a bed that looks like you took it out of one package; which is what you did.

Don’t be afraid to make your bed everything you want it to be. It’s the focal point to every bedroom and you’re the one who has to sleep in it. When I redecorated my bedroom, I told myself I am ditching comforter sets for good! I wanted something girly, elegant, mature, and something that looks really plush and comfy.

(Ignore the Christmas lights on the headboard, this was taken in December)

1608677_10202131258755234_863268091_n1964394_10202343049889880_356140800_n1927063_10202403684885717_1572906423_n1964331_10202403684445706_461057516_n

I wanted the theme of my room to be mature, yet girly. I didn’t want pink and purple to be in my room’s color scheme because those colors are more child-like. I chose a calm blue for my comforter. Typically, when I think of blue, I think of that being a boy’s color. I added my girly touches by adding assortment of silver, diamond patterned, and beaded accent pillows, All complimenting the blue comforter by not being too dramatic. The beaded pillow in the front is the busiest thing on the bed. There are so many shades of blue that it really doesn’t match the comforter at all. To tie that pillow in (since I am obsessed with it and HAD to have it), I topped the footing of the bed with a sweater blanket that contained the light blue from the comforter and the darker blue shades in the pillow. Even when my bed is messy, it still looks so comfortable. I think by adding decorative pillows, a sweater blanket, and a fluffy comforter, my bed looks so big and comfy. And don’t get me wrong, IT IS! Finally, my decorative pillows aren’t too crazy busy. I already have one dramatic pillow; I didn’t need three more. They are simple, two white pillows with a diamond pattern in silver. Then one pillow metallic knitted pillow in silver.

Don’t be afraid to make your bedding stand out with style. How do you expect to get beauty sleep if your bed isn’t beautiful? ❤

(Comforter and decorative pillows: Target.com. Sheets, thick pillows, and front accent pillow: Pier 1 Imports)

One thought on “How to turn your bed from blan to bling?

Leave a comment